Go to sleep, already!

I am sitting here waiting for the baby to go to sleep.  I have come to realize that mommies cannot sleep while baby is crying.  Tonight is it is driving me insane.  I have fed him, medicated him, changed him.  And he is in there crying like it is the end of the world.  I am done.  I am too damn tired to be patient.  He just needs to sleep, and I need to sleep.  I am over it.  I just wish I could sleep.

I think I see another feeding in my near future.  What else can I do? 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope in Virginia
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 00:32:50

    I suggest earplugs. Seriously. I just got some and end up using them almost every night. We live in a tiny condo and Emma's room is right beside us. And, with the earplugs, I really can't hear her!

    Reply

  2. ~Jess
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 12:21:14

    What we've done, since it was just becoming a habit with our daughter: We closed our door, closed her's, I took some benadryl and turned on the sound machine and ignored her. I checked on her, but after 30 minute she was asleep and slept through the night.I think they begin to realize they can get what they want by crying. It sucked, but it worked….the next night we had absolutely no issues.

    Reply

  3. Mrs. Higrens
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 04:27:38

    I hope this weekend was better and you were able to catch up on sleep.And I agree with Jess that there comes a point when they start to use crying to get attention (a prelude to the "I need some water" and such tactics used by toddlers and up?).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

