Expectations, Again…

Let me say that I love my mother.  Really.  And I know that she loves Little Guy.  Little Guy adores his grandparents.  He loves going over there. and being with them.  I try to do so as often as I can.

I recently asked my mother if she would be willing to watch Little Guy while I did my weekly shopping.  It did not go well.

I usually like to do my grocery shopping before 10 AM.  The earlier, the better.  I usually try to leave between 8 AM and 9 AM.  This is not a problem for me, as I am up anyway with a 6 AM baby wake up call.  The store is not all that crowded and it is easier for me to get in and out.

The day she planned to watch him, she had a hair appointment that morning, so she could not watch him until after 1000 AM.  Fine.  It is sort of cutting it close to nap time, but I was willing to chance it.  It was also much later than I really liked going.  But it was an opportunity to do the grocery shopping without the baby, so I went with it.  Not real happy about it, but I was willing to try it.

The store was crowded.  It was also an unfamiliar store to me, so I did not know where stuff was.  It took me longer than I would have liked, and it did not help that my mother was calling very 15 minutes about the baby.  Sigh.  Not a fun trip.

This week she tells me that she actually has a lot of stuff to do in the mornings, and is really not available when I would want to grocery shop.  Fine.  Then she should not have told me that she was willing to watch him if it was not likely to happen.  Because I expected to have her available for that, and she let me down.  Again.  This is teaching me not to depend on her for any babysitting.  I am not sure if that is what she wants to happen, but that seems to be what is occurring.

I think the thing which frustrates me the most about my mother is that she will agree to things because she wants to do them, not knowing if she is actually able to do them.  Which is frustrating for me, because I expect her to be available to watch the baby and incorporate that into my plan.  Then it turns out she is not available, which screws up my plan, and usually makes it impossible to do said event without dragging the baby along.  Everything is harder with the baby.  It gets really exhausting trying to do everything with a baby along.

Anyway, I think that I need to revise my expectations.  Unless it is between 10 and 12 AM, I cannot count on my mother for sitting  help.  And I need to start bringing the baby along when I grocery shop, because there is no one to watch him.  That should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

