Transitions

For some reason, transitions have been really tough for Little Guy.  Every transition seems to bring on a trantrum.

Getting dressed for the day causes a tantrum.

Getting in the car to go somewhere causes a tantrum.

Not being able to go outside causes a tantrum.

Waking up from a nap results in a tantrum.

Getting in the high chair to eat dinner causes a tantrum.

I think you get the picture.  It is exhausting.  I hate having the fights every damn time I want to take him to do something.  Usually what I want to do is something fun for him, and he is fine once we get there.  But he still has to fight me.

I am fairly sure it is a toddler thing, and it will likely pass.  But it is wearing me out right now.  I am just brain dead at the end of the day because I have been fighting with Little Guy a good part of the day.

I wish I knew what I could do to make the transitions easier.  I am getting really tired of fighting him all the time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 00:59:15

    Bah! Hoping he acclimates to the transitions of life soon *hugs*

    Reply

  2. andrea
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 03:58:34

    it is TOTALLY a toddler thing. the only hting that worked (works) for us is constant speaking of the schedule – so “G, after we are done with our food we are going to get dressed” or “after we brush our teeth, we are going to go night night”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

