Thanksgiving focuses on family.  That can be difficult for someone who has had trouble building a family of their own.  Hubby and I were just not up for the traditional Thanksgiving this year.

This year, we did several things differently.  We made Thanksgiving about the celebration instead of the food.  This left more room to actually be thankful.

First, I participated in a 5K race on Thanksgiving day.  I ran the entire thing!  And finished with a time of 39:44, a pace of 12:48.  I think that is very respectable, and better than what I expected.  It felt really good to run the race.  The entire thing was a big party, with bands along the route and people cheering the entire way.  And I felt like a rock star.  It was great!

Then, we decided not to cook the traditional Thanksgiving dinner.  Not only is it better financially, but it feels good on an emotional level, too.  The discada we are planning on making is easy and fun to make, and is really yummy.  It is also sort of festive, too.  (As most mexican food is!)  And we do not have to worry about cooking a turkey and all the sides.  My stress level this Thanksgiving is a lot lower.

We are also not expecting a lot of family over the holidays because we are not traveling.  That also reduces our stress levels.

Really, Thanksgiving is a celebration.  It does not matter what you make, as long as you are able to celebrate what you have.  Isn’t that what Thanksgiving is?

As I think back on my day, it is a true reminder of what I am thankful for.

  • I am able to run.
  • For my mother’s group ladies who got me started running, and ran with me.
  • For my Hubby and my parents
  • For my son (He also got to participate in the race today.  He walked in the stroller with granddad.)
  • For living where I do, because it has supportive communities.
  • For being able to be in limbo at work.  Things are tight for us, but it is do-able.
  • For the internet, which gives me an outlet for these things!
  • For my dogs.  I love my Danes!
  • The relationship my child has with my parents.  They love him so much, and he adores them.  It is so much fun seeing them together.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jess
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 02:06:25

    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    Glad you had such a wonderful day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

