Weaning.

I am finally weaning the Little Guy.  (Yeah, I breastfed a long time.)

Or maybe I should say he is weaned.

And it was surprisingly easy.  I guess because he was ready.

They day after we got back from our trip, Little Guy and I talked.  I told him that he was a little boy, and little boys do not nurse.  They cuddle, instead.  I told him that he could cuddle as much as much as he liked.  At bedtime, I started putting him in his crib and singing a “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”* and rubbing him for a while.  It is mostly me singing and rubbing, and him hanging out in the crib.  It seems to work.

*I know, not very original.  But I wanted something that Hubby could do, too.

He has not nursed since Wednesday.

It means my child is growing up.  He cannot be called a baby any more.  He really is a little boy.

I am glad that I did it, but I feel sad, too.  There was a connection when we nursed that we do not have anymore.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 02:09:18

    It is so sad to let go of those things that made them a ‘baby.’

    Hugs to you . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

