Needing a chilly pill.

I had my interview this morning at 11 AM, and I am still sort of revved up from it.  Between the commute, my mother dropping child off, and then getting child off for nap, I have not had any time to sit and absorb my morning’s experience.

I was really nervous going in, probably because I really want this job.  Fingers crossed it works out.  They are not huge, with only 5 ORs and a couple of small procedure rooms.  But they do a lot of laparoscopy (hooray), and they also do a good amount of gyno.  (My specialty!)  I would also get to do c-sections, as their OR people staff an OB OR, too.   Believe it or not, despite all my OR experience, I have never done a c-section.  The hospitals that I worked for either did not do it, or they had a separate OB OR staffed by L and D nurses.  I get to learn a new skill!  I could work 12 hours if I wanted, and they do 24 hour call.  Hopefully it will not be so bad.

They offered the opportunity to come in and observe for a day.  I may try to do that.  Hopefully if I call tomorrow, I can do it on Monday. That would be good for me, and hopefully for them.

I guess I really need to find child care now.  Damn it.  I have been in total denial of that process.  I love my current child care provider, but I cannot keep her after we move.  Sigh.  I think I will save that for tomorrow.

Right now I need some down time.  I will likely run later this afternoon, but right now I think I am going to lie down and read for a bit…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    May 16, 2012 @ 23:55:47

    Good luck with the interview process…really hope it works out. And that the child care situation falls into place. That’s all a lot of stress to deal with at once.

    Reply

  2. Jamie
    May 17, 2012 @ 01:24:31

    That’s great that they give you the opportunity to observe for a day! I know the feeling about child care and denial. Denial is just so much easier . . .

    Reply

  3. Rose's Daughter
    May 19, 2012 @ 20:15:51

    You’ve never done a csection? Think hysterectomy, but you leave the uterus in. And there’s a baby in the room. And your patient is awake!!! Lol it’s fun. Lot of paperwork though

    Reply

    • vablondie
      May 19, 2012 @ 20:18:33

      I know, it is a little hard to believe, isn’t it? That is about what I figured it would be. It seems like it would be a bit of a zoo! But fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

