I know that I should not feel this way…

But it feels like every time I actually need my mother for child care on my terms, she gets sick and cannot do it.

I am not sure if that is what is actually going on, but it damn sure feels that way to me.

This week my day care provider is on a much needed vacation, and I was hoping for more help from her for child care.  I have a couple of appointments and things to do this week to get things in order for my move and new job.  I needed her to watch Alton a couple of mornings. so that I can get these things done.

Unfortunately, my mother is sick and is unable to do much of anything by herself.  I would have loved an hour or two to get some packing done this morning, but it was not to be, because she could not do it.  Instead, I got a short break where I could sit and catch up on blogs.  Better than nothing I suppose, and I should take what I could get.

But I kept thinking about the packing I could have done if I had the morning free.  Even an hour would have helped.  Sigh.

And I had to find child care to cover my appointments this week.  This is a time when I would like something to come easy.  I have a lot of stuff going on all at once, and I am a little overwhelmed.  Now, on top of packing what I can, trying to get Little Guy to mother’s group stuff, and trying to care for myself, I have to scramble for babysitters.

I think that trying to find babysitters was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

She keeps talking about wanting to watch him, but it is really on her terms.  Not mine.  I think that is what pisses me off the most.  We usually have to being him over there, and pick him up.  We have to provide everything.  And then when I get the diaper bag back is it completely disorganized.  We cannot leave him there for more than a few hours.  (So by the time we drop him off and pick him up, I only get an hour at home.  The commute to and from their place can eat up time.)

And half the time, when I really need child care, she is out of town or comes up sick.  Like now.  So it is not as much help as I would like.

Of course, with our move coming up, it is probably time for them to get sick, anyway.  Every single move Hubby and I have done, my parents have gotten sick.  So they were pretty much no help, despite the fact that they said they really want to help.  Maybe this is along the same lines.

I am such a cynic.

Off to do a few chores and pack while I child is sleeping…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Blanche
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 01:11:56

    This? This is my mother-in-law. Except she doesn’t get sick, she just happens to have other commitments she’s forgotten about reappear that she couldn’t possibly reschedule in order to spend the time she supposedly wants to spend with her only granddaughter. Apparently spending time with her granddaughter doesn’t give her as much of an ego boost as feeding the poor or something equally worthy. I could go on and on but will just tell you I sympathize so much with this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

