Things to remember

It is not failing to let the movers pack the rest of our stuff.  It is one less thing for me to do.

As long as I keep running, that is a good thing.  I am not a failure for running 1.5 miles of my 2 mile workout today.  Especially after the beginnings of a tension headache.

Moving and starting a new job are both stressful.  I am doing both at the same time with a very active toddler boy in tow.  I really need to cut myself some slack.

I should remember that my parents are generally no help during these big transitions in my life.  Sure they support the idea of the transition, but are generally unable to do much to actually help me through the transition.  Disappointing, but true.  Especially this time, when I really could have used the help.

We have found a gym close-ish to the new house.  It has a gym and an indoor pool and childcare.  Why the Pulaski Y was not on my radar screen, I do not know…

I joined a meetup group of moms in the area we are moving to.  They do have events occasionally.  It is a start.

After an online search, I discovered the counselor I had a decade ago is still practicing.  I may try to see if she is taking new patients.  Now I need to figure out child care.

Things are not falling apart.   Just me…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Queenie
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 10:37:26

    Good luck with the move. We’re moving in a couple of months, and I’m dreading it.

    Reply

  2. Blanche
    Jul 09, 2012 @ 01:18:40

    Hugs. My current mantra as our house is under contract with no potential houses on our horizon is ‘I can do this.’ You can do this too!

    I was wondering, since you saw your counselor before, would you really be considered a new patient or has too much time passed?

    Reply

    • vablondie
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 10:41:11

      Thanks so much for the comment. I alternate between “keep breathing” and “one thing at a time.” I do not know if I will be a returning patient or new patient with my counselor. I suspect that I will be a new patient because it has been about 10 years since I have seen her. I will not know until I call her.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

