Early Riser

That would be me!

I finally decided to bite the bullet and start getting up early to run.

I follow Gretchen Rubin’s blog, and she has a post about why she gets up early.  She says that if you cannot find time for something important to you, try making time in the mornings.  I was inspired to try it.

Today was the first day I got up at 5:30 AM to run.

Here is my thought process on this…

I thought about getting up early to run for a few months now, because it is the only time I can figure out to run.  But I could not get up the courage to actually do it.  And I think it does take a bit of courage.

Then I had to figure out a time which worked for me.  I laugh at people that say 6 AM is early…My child routinely wakes up between 6 and 6:30 AM, so if I want any time to myself I need to wake up earlier than that.  I already wake up at 5 AM on the days I work.

I considered getting up at 5 AM every day, and I just could not do it.  Then I figured that even a half hour of sleep makes a difference, so I settled on 5:30 AM on any day I am not working.

So last night, I laid out my running clothes and set my alarm.  And this morning I actually got out and ran.

And it was mostly good.

At 5:30 AM it is dark.  It is more a pre-dawn workout than an early morning workout.  We have no streetlights in our neighborhood, which is part of the country living experience.  It was sort of scary stepping out into the dark, but I was glad I did.  The moonlight was soft and I could see the stars between the trees when I looked up.  It was a crescent moon (I think), and I could see Orion looming large in the sky.  I heard an owl.  Everything is still and quiet.  And dark.  (I really need to buy a headlight.)

It was not perfect.  I felt yucky about midway through the run.  And the route through my neighborhood is pretty much all large hills.  (Coming back to my house is pretty much all uphill the last 1/8 of a mile.)  But I ran all the downhills, and attempted a few of the hills.

But at least I know I can get out there and do it.  And that will make getting out there again a little easier.

I can also learn from my mistakes.  I can try drinking a glass of milk or having a snack before I go.  This morning I tried just drinking some water, and I may need something more.  And then there are all the hills…

But I think getting up early to run is something I really need to stick with for a while.  It made my whole day better.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 17:39:04

    I’ve always loved morning running. Now, that was more before kids. Hubby and I used to get up 4:30 or 5am to get to the gym before work. Then I went through a very dry spell where I decided sleep was better for my health than running. I’ve finally gotten back in a routine now where I get up at 6am and am done around 7am. Usually I have time to shower before the little ones wake up, but not always. Obviously this would be impossible if I had to get to work early. Good luck. I think the first few days of a new routine are always the hardest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

