Bowed over

Yes, I have been a horrible blogger lately.  I suspect it is because most of my journaling needs are met with my food journal.  I need to write a bit about what is going on around each meal.  It can get a little dull because breakfast is always the same.  I eat because I am hungry when I get up.  What I eat changes some, but I always eat breakfast.  Lunch is usually when ever I can get it and I usually eat what I bring.  Dinners are usually after work and I am usually hungry.  I do not have a lot of control over when I eat.  Nor do I get opportunity to snack.  Not a bad thing.  I just need to watch how much I eat at dinner.

I have had other stressors, too.  The attorney Hubby shares an office with got in some´pretty serious legal trouble.  (Like federal charges.)  Most of them made up by one of his clients.  But it exposed a bunch of other issues which Hubby would just rather not be a part of.  So now Hubby has to move offices.  It has hit Hubby pretty hard because the office-mate was a good defense attorney and was like a mentor to Hubby.  And Hubby is representing office-mate against the charges.  Just a hard time all round for Hubby, which bleeds over to home because Hubby is stressed out.   He now has to find another office and defend his friend against criminal charges, all while keeping up his current legal practice.

Oh, and I am still full time with call.  I need to find a way to be more efficient with meal prep.  Not sure how to do that, but supposedly my nutrition coach has a plan.  Hopefully the plan will work.  I am working on getting child to let me fix dinner.  I may start just putting on net.flicks when I get home.  Hopefully that will distract him long enough for me to cook something!

I think I have been losing weight.  While I have not been on a scale, my clothes fit a little differently.  The pair I wore today I was actually able to slide over my hips without undoing them.  Pretty cool.  Something must be working!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Blanche
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 13:23:27

    Hang in there, you are not alone! Meal planning & execution, or my lack thereof, is a source of lots of friction between DH and I. I’ve come to the thought that some people come by it instinctively and others of us have to struggle every day to get it right.

    I’ve found a website called “once a month mom” which provides a menu of pre-planned meals for each month. You put together 80% of them on a full day of cooking and then defrost and reheat as necessary. There’s different menus for paleo, vegetarian, etc. I haven’t tried it, as many of the recipes wouldn’t work for the picky habits of either DH or myself, but you might want to check it out.

    Reply

    • vablondie
      Mar 06, 2013 @ 02:30:52

      Thanks for the comment! part of my issue is not with the meal planning or the cooking. It is just finding the time to prep! I am lucky if I get a half hour to do anything. I am trying to carve out some space in my evening, and I bought a nice slow cooker with a timer. (So that the stuff I put in a 6 AM will not be cooking for 12 hours by the time we finally get to eat it.)

      I am trying to be patient and wait for my nutrition coach to reveal her grand plan to allow me to cook only a couple times a week. We will see…

      Reply

  2. Queenie
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 01:23:46

    I know this is total assvice, but is hubby really sure it’s a good idea to represent him? If they were sharing office space, it sounds like a recipe for trouble–ie, hubby could get dragged into it as witness, or worse. Might be better to hand off the case to someone else. That ethical stuff can get tricky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

