A leap of faith.

Tomorrow I am running a half marathon.  I never thought I would be able to say that.  It still fells surreal to me, and I have picked up my race pack with my bib.  My bib even has my name on it.  All official and stuff.

It is a leap of faith because I have not run that distance.  The closest I got was 12 miles, and I hit the wall around mile 11.  On one hand I know what it feels like, on the other it shakes my confidence and plays with my head.  but I am going to finish it.  I have a run/walk plan I am going to stick to.  It should work.  I have faith.

Hubby has been amazingly supportive.  I have had to do my long runs on the weekends, and they take up the entire morning.  Which meant that he was stuck with wild child while I was off running.  Some weeks it meant that I was unable to go to church because I was off running.  Sometimes I had to do Sunday runs because of weather or letting Hubby go to an event.

My parents, not so much.  But they have had their own issues to deal with.  My mom had hip surgery at the beginning of August, and has been pretty much out of commission for us.  It has been frustrating for her and for us.  She gives a little lip service to supporting me, but I doubt she and my dad will be at the race tomorrow.  They want to go do quaker meeting, as it has been seven weeks since they have been and they really miss it.

I do feel a little like they are giving me the short end of things.  They traveled to Charlottesville to visit friends and see my sister’s band, but will probably not be at the race tomorrow.  I guess they take it for granted that I will be around because they live close by.  But it still hurts in a way.  I put a lot of time and effort into training for this thing, and it is an accomplishment.  It would have been nice to have them there to recognize that accomplishment.

But my Hubby and Little Guy will be there.  I know they are planning to come.  And my running friend will be there to cheer me at the finish line.  (I am sure she will get there before me!)  So the people closest to the journey will be there rooting for me.  That means a lot.

I am going to do this!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 20:40:33

    So, how did it go??? Couldn’t have asked for nicer weather. Hope it was a great experience. I definitely needed a nap this afternoon afterward.

    Reply

  2. vablondie
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 21:01:39

    Went great! Finished with a respectable time (a little over 3 hours) and finished strong. Now I want to to another one!

    Reply

  3. Kristin
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 17:18:46

    I think I’m going to do the Richmond Half in November! Way to go!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

