I did it!

And I feel like a rock star!  

It took me about 3 hours, but I finished and I finished strong!  I finished a half marathon!  My time was about what I expected it to be, and I think fairly reasonable for a first timer and being overweight at that.  I did it using a walk/run interval to help conserve energy and keep me running.  Worked out well, I say.  I did not finish last, and I got my finisher’s medal!  I have never gotten one of those before!  

Hubby and Little Guy were at the finish line.  Little Guy was pretty enamored with the Hokie bird at the event.  We had to walk back to him to get our picture taken.

My parents brought over dinner to celebrate the fact that I finished a half marathon.  They were impressed that I did it.  It was a small party.  And a nice thing to do.

Now I am sore.  I am on my second glass of wine this evening.  (An unusual thing!)  I am sitting with my feet propped up and toe socks on.  I will likely take some ibuprofen and go to bed early-ish.  I am pooped!  And it is back to work tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 17:19:12

    You rock!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Blanche
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 20:46:44

    Congratulations!

    Glad your parents ended up celebrating the accomplishment even if they chose not to be there for it. Hope today wasn’t too awful!

    Reply

  3. Geochick
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 14:05:03

    Way to go!

    Reply

  4. Jessie
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 20:23:51

    That’s awesome, congratulations!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

