Twas the night before CD1….

And all was in its normal state of chaos.

I go off birth control pills tomorrow and I start estrogen patches later this week.  I really hope the mojo is good and we get lucky this cycle.  But I am already thinking about a strategy cycle 2.  (I am thinking BCPs and cycle in June.)  There are a lot of similarities between this cycle and the last, and also a whole lot of differences.  It is like I went in a spiral.  I am in a similar place, but my perspective is different.  It is really hard not to compare this cycle to the last, but I know it will happen.

I am also considering a job change.  Hubby would really like it if I worked hours a closer to his.  I have to admit that hospital hours are not really the same as everyone else’s hours.  I have to be at work really early (before 7 AM) and I usually need to stay until 5 PM (or later if I am on call).  The benefit is that I get a day off.  The downside is that there is not a lot of flexibility in my work schedule.  There is an occupational health nurse position open at one of the local universities.  I am a little nervous about leaving the OR, but this actually uses a lot of my accumulated skills…micro (infectious disease, with the associated vet school and its host of zoonotic diseases), education (teaching classes, leading groups), nursing (obviously the first aid, vaccinations).  It could work, and many OR nurses end up in occupational nursing jobs.  It would be different, and many be a good mental challenge.  The hours are also a lot better..no call, no weekends, no holidays.

The frustrating thing is that I am not all that unhappy where I am.  I love being an OR nurse.  I love learning to scrub in.  I love knowing what I am doing and being considered good at what I do.  I really enjoy the people I work with, and there is a pretty decent work life balance.  (As good as one can get with an OR nursing job.)

Of course this could all be moot if I put in the application and I do not get an interview.  That is always an option too.  Then I am fine where I am.  No changes to the status quo.

So I am putting the application in, and just seeing where it leads.  If it is meant to be, it will happen.  If not, then I am still in a good place.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Blanche
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 01:58:32

    Best of luck to you with everything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

