Dilemma

I applied for a job.

It is a great job working in a urologist’s office.  I enjoy working with the urologists in the OR.  When I mentioned to one of the urologists that I was considering applying, she gave me a rundown of the job, the office environment, and encouraged me to apply.  The hours are Monday through Friday 8-5.  No call, no weekends, no holidays.  They do a good number of procedures in the office, so I would likely get to scrub some, along with assessing and triaging patients.  Totally different set of skills, and more patient interactions.  (Not sure how I feel about that.)

But….  (you knew that was coming, right?)

I adore what I am doing now.  I love, love, love being an OR nurse.  I recently got an advanced certification for my job, so I am like an expert in my field.  (Feels weird to say that.)  They let me scrub a lot, and on some pretty crazy cases.  (Laparotomy, lap nissens, lap assisted colectomy, various urology procedures, various hernia repairs, cystoscopy, penile implants, among others.)  Eventually, I may have the opportunity to learn to assist on procedures (running the camera, holding retractors, sewing suture.)  And the opportunity to learn vascular and orthopedic surgery.  I still have a lot to learn where I am, and I want to learn it.  I am fairly good at what I do.  I enjoy the people I work with.  I enjoy the variety of cases.  Sure it is long hours, and the call sucks.  No getting around call.  But call comes and goes.  We have managed to make it work for us.

With my current job, I get a day off during the week.  I love having that that day off.  I think I would miss it if I did not have it.  It allows me to go see my counselor and get acupuncture and various doctor appointments.  I could pick child up from school a little early if I wanted.  All without missing work or taking time off.  There is a lot of freedom with that.  I do not have to tell anyone about my acupuncture appointments if I do not want to.

I could keep my hair purple (or whatever crazy color I feel like.)  I can get away with it in this job because I wear a hat, so patients do not generally see my hair.  They are also heavily medicated, and not likely to remember.  My co-workers and boss think it is amusing.  The surgeons even get a kick out of it.  I think it actually took my boss about a month to actually see my hair after I dyed it pink the first time.  Silly, I know, but one of the weird perks of working in the OR.

I really do like the people I work with.  Including the surgeons.  Since I have switched to general and urology specialties, I have gotten along better with the surgeons.  I actually enjoy working with them (most of the time.)  And they seem to like working with me.  No one has kicked me out of their room yet.  They do not mind a smart ass.  And the cases are pretty cool.

I am just not sure I want to leave where I am happy and fulfilled just for no call.  That does not seem like enough.  Hubby even agrees, and is not trying to sway me one way or the other.  It may be worth looking into, but I just do not think I want to move.  I want to see what I can do here.

 

Leave a Reply

