Huh…

I had the opportunity to run with other people this morning.

And I did not go.

I finally came the realization that my runs are the few meditative spaces I have.  I just want to run and be.  I do not want to have to interact with someone else.

I know it can be good to run with others, but I prefer running for myself.

It also allows me to run on my own schedule.  I can wake up and spend time with the child, and let hubby sleep in a little.  And then go for a run.

Yes it is hotter later in the morning, but I do it anyway.  (Also, often the college cross country teams are out for runs at later hours.  Bonus!)

I do not have to talk to any one.  I can go at my own pace.

I can just be in my own head, and be open to whatever thoughts come my way.  And then let them go.  I can sink into the music and be.

So I am going to stop feeling guilty for not wanting to train with others.  I do not run run for them, any way.  I run for me.

And I listen to music like Avicii’s “Wake Me Up.”

“All this time I was finding myself and I didn’t know I was lost.”

Exactly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

