Scary stuff

This week is the first week I had a chance to try to get back in to a normal routine.  Work, gym, kid stuff.

Thursday morning, which is my day off, I sneezed and a spurt of bright red blood came out.  All over the couch and me.  I was very upset.  After I calmed down, I realized that there was no cramping.  Just the blood.  Weird.  And the lack of cramping hopefully indicates that it is not a miscarriage.  (After the periods coming off of the other FETs, I think I have a pretty good idea.)

Called my ob/gyn the first chance I could.  He wanted some guidance from the RE.  So I am trying to do self care appointments while shooting off emails and making phone calls.  It was rather bizarre.  Upshot was, I had some blood work drawn and an ultrasound that afternoon.

On ultrasound, things looked all right, sort of.  There was a small subchorionic hemorrhage next to both sacs.

Yes, you read that right.  There are two sacs, two yolks, and two heartbeats.  Both babies measure mostly right on for dates.  Both measured about 6 weeks.  (Holy sh**! is the general consensus over here.)

I have not heard much from my doc, though I suspect that he may want another ultrasound in the next few weeks to see how the subchorionic hemorrhage is healing.  I think he feels like it will likely get better on its own.  And it probably will.

There are two in there.  I am trying to wrap my head around the idea, and trying to figure out how likely it is  that I could lose one.  I think chances are fairly low at this point.  They are both measuring the same, and both measure appropriately for the dates.  There is still a chance one could disappear.  Waiting a little to see what happens, but I think both could stick around.

Lots of scary stuff over here!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Blanche
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 03:54:14

    Oh wow! Sending healing thoughts your way for the hemorrhage.

    And 2. 2?! Holy shit. I have a friend from college in town who used the same practice I did (hubs had a vasectomy in the 80’s). RE put in two thinking at her age they’d be lucky to get one. Yup, two for her as well.

    Reply

  2. Rain
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 12:58:11

    Wow. Sending lots of love and light!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

