Wrapping my head around it…

So.  Twins.  Fraternal twins.

Definitely not what I expected.  And  makes this pregnancy very different.

I am really nervous about making it through to term.  I have a goal of delivering in August, but it is unclear as to whether I will get there or not.  There are a lot of things which could prevent that.

I do have a couple of things going my way.  I am not small.  I am about 5’6′ or so. My height is an advantage here.  I also have gotten a previous pregnancy to term.  Also I am not underweight.  (Actually I am overweight.)  Also, I have fraternal twins so I do not have any worries about twin-twin transfusion syndrome.  Those factors should help.

I am planning on going part time in the summer, so that I do not have to take call.  That is sort of a big deal for me.  I may try to get a pool membership and swim a little bit over the summer.  I also want to continue working out with the hubby as the pregnancy allows, as I think that could only help.  I actually went to the gym yesterday and worked out some.

I am a little sad at not having a singleton.  I think that would have been easier to handle in many respects.  I sort of knew what I was doing with one.  The risks of pregnancy are fewer with one.  You do not have to think up so many possible names.  It is definitely less of a freak show.  I think I have a little mourning going on with that.

I am sure people are talking about how crazy I am to have twins at 41 years old.  I know people have done it before, just maybe not here.

I think I need to take it one day at a time and care for myself the best way I know how.  I have been reading about twin pregnancy.   (And I am really happy I do not have higher order multiples!)  Apparently I need to gain weight, and I will start outgrowing my clothes earlier.  I already cannot fit into most of my jeans, and I have washed my maternity clothes.  (The ones I can find, anyway.)  I already have a small belly at 9 weeks.  Though right now it looks like I am just gaining weight.  Sigh.  Second trimester cannot get here soon enough!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Blanche
    Jan 29, 2016 @ 17:29:05

    Been thinking about you, glad things are going well so far. IIRC there are number of twin mommas on The Hive. That’s another resource you have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

